The Board of Governors at The British School of Paris has an important role in setting the educational character and vision for the School.

The Board approves the annual budget, capital and investment strategy and procedures that will ensure the best possible education for the children studying at the School. The Board is also ultimately responsible for health and safety at the School, and for the management and mitigation of risk.

The Chairman of the Board of Governors, Mr Eric Coutts, or any member of the Board of Governors, may be contacted via the Clerk to the Board of Governors at:

The British School of Paris, 38 Quai de l’Écluse, 78290 Croissy-Sur-Seine or by emailing [email protected]

Mr Eric Coutts (Chairman)


Eric Coutts, a Senior Harris Scholar of Downing College Cambridge, spent a year as Assistant Lecturer in Law at the University of Paris II and subsequently qualified as a solicitor with Slaughter and May. He moved to Goldman Sachs in 1993, working in mergers and acquisitions and corporate restructuring, and in 2007 joined Citigroup, where he was Citi Country Officer and Head of Banking, France. He returned to London in 2014, where he was Chief Executive of Edmond de Rothschild UK until 2019. Mr Coutts was appointed to the Board of Governors in 2004 and became Chairman in July 2018.

Mr Jean-François Bélorgey

Jean-François Bélorgey was appointed to the Board of Governors in June 2021. He was educated at HEC, Paris and was the Treasurer and Administrator of the Fondation HEC for four years; he is currently the Treasurer and Administrator of the Fondation ParisTech. Jean-François is a qualified Chartered Accountant and a Commissaire aux Comptes (French registered auditor). He has extensive experience working with multi-cultural international companies across Europe and in countries such as Japan, the USA, Russia and China and has also been a member of the International Accounting Education Standards Board.

Jean-François is French, he is the Treasurer and Chair of the BSP Finance and Audit Committees. He lives in Paris with his wife and spends his free time helping to look after his grandchildren and supporting other projects as a volunteer.

Ms Rose Hardy

Rose Hardy is Headmistress of Haberdashers' Aske's School for Girls which is an all through independent day school for girls in Hertfordshire. She took a degree in Modern History at Somerville College, Oxford and taught at University College School before becoming Head of History at Francis Holland School. Rose moved to St Albans School in 2001 where she was Head of Sixth Form and then Second Master. Rose was Headmistress of St Margaret’s School until her appointment in September 2019 to her current role. She continues to teach history and has a passion for nineteenth century political and social history. She is a governor of Beechwood Park School, sits on the Cathedral Education Trust in St Albans and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. Rose was appointed to the Board of Governors in November 2017.

Mr Richard Russell

Richard Russell, who took a degree in classics at Jesus College, Cambridge, was the IB Co-ordinator and Director of Studies at Sevenoaks School and Deputy Warden and Head of Boys’ School at Forest School Essex before being appointed to his present post of Headmaster of Colfe’s School. Richard is, and has been, a governor of several schools and was, from 2009 – 2010, the Chairman of HMC London Division.He was appointed to the Board of Governors in November 2016. Richard serves on the Education Committee and chairs the Governance and Nominations Committee. 

Mr Ian R.H.Smith


Ian Smith was a Vice President of J.P. Morgan and Head of the Facilities Management and Corporate Services Department in Paris until his retirement in 2003. His children were educated at the BSP before attending universities in the UK. He was appointed to the Board of Governors in 1996 and chairs the Campus Development Committee. Ian serves on the Finance, and Governance and Nominations Committees.